Oshoala, Nnadozie named in IFFHS Women’s CAF Team of the Year


Super Falcons quartet Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Osinachi Ohale and Ngozi Okobi have been named in the International Federation of Football History and Statistics Women’s CAF Team of the Year for 2021.

The selection of Nigeria’s goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward in the ceremonial Best XI of 2021 means the country contributed a player in each position on the pitch.

Oshoala was part of the formidable Barcelona side that won the treble – UEFA Women’s Champions League,Primera División and Copa de la Reina –  in the 2020/21 season. Nnadozie was outstanding again since she joined up Paris FC in France keeping six clean sheets so far this season.

On her own part, Ohale, a strong and agile defender has also contributed four goals so far with her goal against Barcelona in June a memorable one.

Ever reliable Okobi continues to be a key player for Eskilstuna United in the Swedish Damallsvenskan.

Meanwhile, Zambian Bruce Nwape was named as the coach of the Year by the IFFHS.

Completing the starting XI in a 3-4-3 formation are Cameroon Jeannette Yango, Janine Van Wyk of South Africa.

Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon), Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa) and Ghana’s Evelyn Badu are the other midfielders selected.

 In attack, Malawi’s Tabitha Chawinga, and Zambia’s Barbra Banda complete the front three with the Barcelona forward from Nigeria.

The trio Onome Ebi, Rita Chikwelu and Rasheedat Ajibade are among the seven substitutes in the team of the year selected by IFFHS. (Punch)

Share on Google Plus

About Brandinfo

BrandInfo is an online newspaper that has been specially packaged to dish out exclusive, robust and current information about brands. For inquiries, please call +234 708 967 2875
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment